I Want to Be Like That Bowling Carpenter

Image

The Hardest Working Man in Home Improvement

It’s D.J., with another of my periodic “check-ins.”

Since retiring from “advertising for a living” after 29 years in the field, I‘m not looking back.

But, I have come to grips with the fact that I’m still too young (a “pup” of just 50)  and way too broke NOT to work.

So, as I diligently work to launch our new product brand, I’ve effectively executed my “AdTex Exit Strategy,” as planned.

After 2003, AdTex  (which is still operating, by the way) was a +$4 million agency that annually manufactured and delivered over 300,000,000 (that’s three-hundred million) pieces of print advertising for Macy’s and many other major department stores. We knew that work would eventually dissapear.

Back in ’03, when we had our first formation meeting for AdTex, someone asked me, “What are you going to do when this is over?” I said, “Go to work for Home Depot.”

So, some mornings, you’ll find me at The Home Depot in Weatherford, Texas, proudly working as a Bay Integrity Associate. BIAs are the folks who daily walk the entire +/-100,000-sq. ft. stores, recording hundreds of thousands of price stickers and UPCs with a handheld phone/laser scanner. It’s a great job! What handy little boy didn’t dream of working in a gigantic “hardware store,” while carrying a laser ray gun?

But alas, my beloved part-time gig at “Big Orange” isn’t allowing me to make the progress necessary to get our new brand rolling.

IT’S TIME TO GET TO WORK!

Do you know someone that can use someone with my skill set and experience? Oh heck, skip “someone”…just make it me!

What I really excelled at and did most, at both Pillowtex and AdTex, was PROJECT/ACCOUNT MANAGEMENT.

I managed logistics and people under sometimes-incredibly hectic situations and schedules. Facing an impossible delivery deadline, one client once told our VP, “That DJ has the demeanor of a gunslinger.” We delivered. I did budgeting, projections, estimating, reports, market research and above all else, customer service.

Customer service is about working with/for people. Maybe that’s why I eventually grew kinda’ weary of the “interactive” stuff. I was spending more time interacting with a computer than with people.

Because our new product brand is an automotive product, I’m looking forward to doing something automotive related (You know how much I love cars and the automotive aftermarket!), or at least involving manufacturing of a hard-line product.

Please indulge me with a story about my super-cool uncle.

Uncle Clarence is the most youthful, active Mid-Octogenarian you’ll find. At about age 65, he retired from his material-handling job at Bell Helicopter. Because he looked and moved like a much younger man, coworkers didn’t realize he was that age and didn’t believe he would really retire from a job he obviously enjoyed.

But Uncle Clarence had a plan! He was determined to start life’s “second half”, doing two things he really enjoyed; BOWLING and CARPENTRY. He got a part-time job…get this…building cabinets at a large bowling complex! He went on to bowl multiple 300-score games  and an 840 series (search “Fort Worth” at this link to see Uncle Clarence’s bowling accomplishments)— at 70 years old! He is an honoree in the International Bowling Museum and Hall of Fame.

So, why shouldn’t I hope, with your help, to find a good job (or long-term contract) doing something at which I’m good, in a field I love? And guess what, I’m willing to temporarily relocate! Admittedly, I am picky about possible destinations. How about New Mexico, Arizona, California, Wyoming, Colorado or anywhere in Texas?

Please keep that “ear to the ground” for young, broke, car-crazy DJ. Thanks!

One thought on “I Want to Be Like That Bowling Carpenter

Leave a Reply

